Running… (PART 1)

I stumbled over a rock and cursed out loud. I immediately ducked down and tried to look for cover. Twilight had long settled over the small town but it wasn’t safe. It was never safe. Most of my day had been spent running away from the police and leaving far too much damage in my wake. Subtlety was never my strong point. Before, the others would help me with the cover ups but not anymore. I was alone. Jedd and Enyo had been killed. Scenes from the escape flashed before my eyes. So many things had changed. So many people had died.

I watched the two silently, as I had become accustomed to. A long time ago, Jedd had nicknamed me Calypso after the Greek goddess, because I only spoke when spoken to. Jedd herself had been nicknamed Athena by Enyo because of her fierce character. And Enyo had always been called Enyo. Before we met, we were separate. An entity that was relatively non-existent with powers that we could barely control. Enyo found us. I remember being in my bedroom, locked up by my terrified parents. Somehow, I never asked how, but she blasted my bedroom wall inwards and swooped in to “rescue” me. She had already rescued Enyo and together we were known as the trinity. The irony of the religious connotation always made me smile ruefully.

We never did anything particularly wrong. Sometimes, we’d cause trouble just for a laugh. But usually, we were angels. Or as angelic as three reprobates could be. Learning to harness our powers would often result in petty crimes. For a long time, I was the only the only who was still in high school. I distinctly remember being suspended frequently for inexplicable accidents. Like when I froze the water in the plumbing. And subsequently exploded the pipes trying to heat it up. I was the youngest of the three. I had the hardest time honing my powers. Jedd could manipulate people’s thoughts and feelings, and whenever a heist was necessary, she was our go to. While she couldn’t replace people’s thoughts or read their minds, she had an uncanny knack for guessing people’s thoughts and manipulating the information to her own advantage. Because of her sarcastic nature, it was easy for her to work around her prowess. Enyo could manipulate time and space, and often, I had been a victim of her stopping time altogether. But me, I could control gravity and matter. it took me a while to grasp, but I could change the states of matter of substances, and enable objects to levitate of the ground. At the full extent of my powers, I could even cause earthquakes, according to Enyo.

My mind snapped back to reality as I found myself stepping into ice cold water. I was on the edge of the county. I had been running for ages. My muscles screamed protest at every flex of the arch in my step, the stretching of my lungs as I breathed in and out, the beating of my heart that didn’t quite calm down. I was terrified. Of everything. Of what I had seen. Of what I had been a part of. The moon was bright, shining as bright as day, casting an eerie glow over everything. I looked down into the water, and a silvery reflection stared back at me. It resembled my face but did not feel like it belonged to me. There were cuts across her face, tiny but numerous, and many strangers’ blood stained what would have otherwise been fair features. Brown protuberant eyes peered searchingly, imploringly up at me. I blinked them, saw the stranger disappear as I came to terms that I was the stranger. I was the face. I bent down to wash my face, and allowed the cool water to run through my fingers.

Jedd stood on the street corner, wearing a navy-blue hoodie. She hid her face behind a newspaper that was two days old. I sat a few meters away at a bus stop. Doing what I did best, keeping silent and watching vigilantly. Time ticked by. Where was Enyo? It had become a tradition, I would sit waiting patiently for Enyo after school, looking small and scared. Jedd would come from her job at the supermarket and Enyo would walk down the street, commanding respect. Despite being young, only 27 years old, she looked like she was nearing 60. Every time she used her powers she aged ever so slightly. Now she was sporting silver hair, but with a young and lithe body. That day though, she was late.

Jedd sat next to me, and buried her head in her hands. “something is wrong.” She whispered simply.

I gave her a stricken look. “go back to your position.” I hissed urgently.

She laughed coldly. “today is the wrong day to care about the rules. One thing about Enyo is she is never late. She can’t afford to be.”

Enyo held a day job as a fashion director at the biggest magazine in the city. She forbade Jedd and I from interacting in the streets because she wanted me to live a “normal teenage life’. Yet my life was far from normal. By night, instead of studying, I was breaking boulders with my mind and levitating objects. I had been kidnapped from my parents by a 27-year-old in a 70-year old’s body. I never spoke. I had no friends apart from Enyo and Jedd. Jedd had been a foster child for most of her life, being shuttled from home to home. No one knew about her parents, perhaps they were dead, perhaps they weren’t.  Jedd was more or less a good girl, except for her several piercings and punk haircut.

I leaned back on the bench and let out a long breath.

“say something, kid.” She coaxed me.

“I’m scared Jedd.” I whimpered. Next to me, Jedd shifted uncomfortably in her seat kneading her head with her knuckles. We sat in silence and I watched glumly as our bus home left the stop without us. Enyo was like a mom to me. Suddenly, Jedd jumped up.

“I can’t do this anymore,” she announced, checking the laces on her shoes.

I hurriedly stood up, and slung my school bag onto my back. “what do you want me to do?” I shrugged, preparing for the worst.

She held up a hand to stop me from talking and squinted at the people coming towards us. “Panic.’ She muttered.

I stared blankly at her. “you want me to panic?”

“of course not, you idiot.” She huffed. “there’s an atmosphere of panic. Panic has the tendency to latch onto people unaware of why they are even panicking.” She paused momentarily, and pointed at a middle-aged lady, who appeared to be making a call, ‘she thinks something has happened to her kids. She doesn’t know what’s wrong,’ Jedd pointed out.

I raised my eyebrows.

“something has happened, Calypso.” She said finally. I glared at her, that was obvious. She gestured me to follow her and before I knew it she ran into the crowd.490

Leave a Reply

